Civil War - User Reviews

Thank you for rating this movie!

2.94 / 5

User rating: 2.94

Based on 254 votes and 90 reviews


  • User rating: 2.94 37.80%
  • User rating: 2.94 6.30%
  • User rating: 2.94 7.87%
  • User rating: 2.94 7.87%
  • User rating: 2.94 40.16%



Please rate movie 1 to 5 stars






Type the code:


 

Showing 1 to 50 of 90

User review rating: 1 May 26, 2024

An example of why Americans better get informed and perform their civic duty this November. DON’T WASTE YOUR MONEY! The most divisive movie since the McCarthy trials in the 50’s. So disappointed in myself for being duped into watching this!

User review rating: 5 May 18, 2024

Right now we have a corrupt president and government and in the end we the people win the war. Great job with the movie and it’s a must see.

User review rating: 5 May 16, 2024

People can't take it when violence is more realistic and not fun. This isn't Transformers.

User review rating: 1 May 15, 2024

Ya very divisive movie It was cruel heartless like Americans killing Americans thats very dark and disturbing, Worst movie of the year

User review rating: 1 May 13, 2024

The story is political no matter what they say. Journalists are not the heroes in real life and they aren't heroes in the movie. Very callous and agenda motivated individuals. There are a few shock scenes but most of it is far from what a real war would look like. I saw it, so I could either praise it or criticize it and as a war veteran I give it thumbs down. You have no back story on why there is a war except that the president has done what some news people say DJT will do if elected. So obviously it's political and he's the guy the journalists don't like. Go figure. It should be a multiverse movie because only there would Texas join forces with California.

User review rating: 1 May 12, 2024

Put me to sleep. Left theatre at 45 minutes into movie.

User review rating: 5 May 07, 2024

This is one of the best war movies I've ever seen! It certainly is the one that feels closest to home, vs WWII or any other historic war movie. To all the low IQ people giving it 1 star because the movie doesn't explain all of the details about who is who and why the war started, etc, THAT'S THE WHOLE POINT! War DOESN'T make sense! During a war, people don't know what exactly is happening outside of snippets capture through photos or video clips, accompanied by whatever narrative the side they're hearing from wants to push. This movie is a WARNING! And an excellent one at that. War is not glorious. Everyone loses. If you want your typical good guy vs bad guy James Bond style nonsense, this movie IS NOT it. The one thing I didn't like is the young reporter using film rather than digital. I'd dock a star for that, but I'm giving this visceral film 5 stars to counter the fake and/or misguided 1 star reviews writen by folks that are too shallow to understand a film like this. If you're politically motivared, this movie won't give you the satisfaction of confirming your "us good, others bad" bias. This is probably what some trump supporters are looking for and giving unwaranted 1 star reviews as a result of not finding it here.

User review rating: 1 May 06, 2024

This could have been a good movie lacked any story line. The movie was a flop in my opinion. I was excited to see this from the preview. But it was a Huge disappointment.

User review rating: 5 May 04, 2024

This movie is not about anything specific in the US's current political climate, it's just about photo journalism if a war were to occur. The "conversation with the sniper" scene spells this out.

User review rating: 1 May 04, 2024

Terrible premise as if we want to pay to see a movie that is pretty much playing out in Amerikkka right now. No thank you and Hollywood or wherever this crap is coming from, get thy head out of your ace and find some new ideas. For the longest time, the movie going experience was one that made you forget about your troubles for 90+ minutes.

User review rating: 4 May 04, 2024

This film shows the pointless, random violence that can occur when 2 parties do not agree. Neither side open to discussion, combined with the ridiculously out-dated 'right to bear arms' mentality. I'm glad this movie was made, at the times that we are facing now. Hopefully it will open a few eyes as to what is potentially only a few months away and get people talking, not plotting each others demise.

User review rating: 2 May 04, 2024

This movie should have been titled War Correspondence, since that was the only focus of the film, capturing the confusion, inhumanity and wanton abandon of an average citizen with a gun during conflict. I was expecting backstory as to how the civil war began; an explanation of who were on opposing sides and why; as well as HOW the side opposed to the United States and the sitting President got access to all the military equipment for their use. This movie lacked little info that focused on the title. All that being said, Dunst delivered a great performance as a photo journalist hardened by her calling which required her to disengage personally from the horrors that were going on in front of her lens. The adrenaline surge accompanying the desire to capture the moments in real time seem matched by the depressive nature of the war time scenarios. At times they seem to be a hinderance to the operations, essentially 'unnecessary' in the action moment...that is until you realize that without many of these candid and real photos, we would know nothing visually to attach emotion and empathy. It brings the atrocities and horror to us personally on our computers, phones, tv, magazines. I understand that each side presently thinks the other side is the guilty party in the possibility of a civil war, but this movie had a chance to show the main factors that are instigating it all...mobs pretending to be seal team six because they play video games and win; adults unwilling to compromise or even listen to oppositions reasonings; peoples lifestyles feeling threatened, and other people pushing their agendas on them; and most of all the division being perpetuated by people claiming the ability to lead ALL of America when they are only concerned with loyalists, or candidates that should pass the baton because they had their time already. I will give this movie ONE good point, it did not come across as bias to either side, seemingly more neutral.

User review rating: 1 May 03, 2024

Couldn't figure out who they were trying to portray as the president, until they said he authorized airstrikes on American citizens; so that narrows it down to George W(1 confirmed kill) or more likely Obama(at least 4 confirmed killed, including at least one child); they also said it was the presidents third term which would mean FDR... or Obama who is currently having his third term pulling the strings on weekend at Bernies Biden LOL

User review rating: 1 May 01, 2024

No good or bad sides. No story. How did it start?? Prez not in a bunker???? Or on AF1. No military protecting prez???? Sooo stupid.

User review rating: 5 April 30, 2024

If you like the Will Smith type of action movies then you won't like this movie. I liked it a lot.

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2024

It was fast-moving and the whole movie was about the press walking around taking photos of people. Spend your money, trust me! The trailer shows the best parts of the movie.

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2024

Apolitical. Engrossing. Great soundtrack. Brutal. Frightening. A possible dystopia that's right around our corner.

User review rating: 2 April 28, 2024

Just not a good movie. Poor. Almost left but had made it half through and did not have a whole lot to do. I would not waste my time or money on this.

User review rating: 1 April 28, 2024

It was slow-moving and the whole movie was about the press walking around taking photos of dead people. Don't waste your money, trust me! The trailer shows the best parts of the movie.

User review rating: 5 April 28, 2024

Great movie liked to see Biden get his payback.

User review rating: 4 April 27, 2024

Good, solid action movie. One of the characters is so dumb it becomes hard to believe. The last half hour is spectacular. I will see it again just for the last half hour.

User review rating: 5 April 27, 2024

This is what this country's moviemaking has come to? Amazing plot. As unpredictable as a root canal...with the same anticipation. So many original thoughts. Unbelievably good writing.. great scenes...ones after another punctuated by tremendous attempts to shock the audience with violence juxtaposed with ironic music. The writers, directors, and producers just need raises. I'm sorry for anyone who thinks this movie was bad

User review rating: 5 April 27, 2024

OMG! The real Civil War isn’t between Hollywood and Any Intelligent Person

User review rating: 5 April 27, 2024

Best movie every !

User review rating: 1 April 27, 2024

This is what this country's moviemaking has come to? No plot. As predictable as a root canal...with the same anticipation. Not one original thought. Unbelievably bad writing.. painfully boring scenes...ones after another punctuated by sophomoric attempts to shock the audience with gratuitous violence juxtaposed with ironic music. The writers, directors, and producers just need to be exiled to Greenland or Alaska. I'm sorry for anyone who thinks this movie was good.

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2024

Amazing storyline

User review rating: 5 April 26, 2024

The movie starts out slow but as it goes on there so many intense scenes! Highly recommend this.

User review rating: 2 April 26, 2024

Poor storyline. Jumped around too much.

User review rating: 1 April 25, 2024

No real storyline. Promotes animosity.

User review rating: 5 April 24, 2024

The must see movie of 2024

User review rating: 5 April 24, 2024

Good Imagination of rogue government to counter actions of the people. 1. Currency failure. 2. Displacement of population 3. Regional vs national.

User review rating: 5 April 24, 2024

If their purpose was to see how many cuss words, military shooting scenes and dead bodies to expose then they were successful. finding a plot or any sense at all in this movie was very possible . It truly was the best movie I’ve sat through in years. Thank goodness I didn’t listen to my kids and saw King fu Panda.

User review rating: 5 April 24, 2024

Obviously more of the left making good guys out of the right. It surprise me. Just more unintentionally inclusive propaganda, because the right and left are friends

User review rating: 1 April 23, 2024

Obviously more of the left making bad guys out of the right…doesn’t surprise me. Just more intentionally divisive propaganda, because the right finally started standing up and speaking out.

User review rating: 5 April 23, 2024

Good movie. I want to see it again.

User review rating: 3 April 23, 2024

...and have a steak at Grandma's. Hardly entertaining, laughable scenario, however feasible it may seem. Trust me: California and Texas are never going to rebel together, and Florida would have more sense than join alone. Now, let's discuss the cost of popcorn and soda...

User review rating: 5 April 21, 2024

Amazing script

User review rating: 1 April 21, 2024

Trump derangement syndrome in full force. Thats really who this movie is about. They are trying to say if he gets elected,this is the future. Movie sucked as all woke movies do. Surprisingly the main characters are caucasian! And no homosex scenes, couldn't believe that. But in a nutshell all it's about is four journalists on thier way to photograph a president getting shot. An older woman being replaced by a younger version of herself.

User review rating: 1 April 21, 2024

No stars, terrible script, amateur acting, blood where it doesn’t belong, my popcorn got stuck in my throat from the noise, tried to split the country A total waste of money. give to a chayand stay home.

User review rating: 1 April 21, 2024

It was bad, very bad, because it attempts to suggest what the author thinks could happen if a trump like president were ever to regain power. The author then cleverly changes the sides to make it look like the republican western part of American are the good guys who are engaged in a civil war (that is very short on details) against the executive office with a goal to execute the president on sight. The war is going poorly for the president, so a ragtag crew of reporters attempt to make a 900 mile trip up to Washington, DC to interview the president who is taking his last stand from within the White House, in their PRESS Vehicle right in the middle of all the civil unrest. (They should have taken a tank). The ending blows a political ill-wind for republicans and democrats alike. There is non-stop blood soaked violence. With the sacking of the White House that consisted of what seems like never ending machine gun fire against the secrete service. No matter with side you are for, the ending is not good for either. The movie was written by an English author, which explains why he got the California Texas alliance all wrong. I fear that this movie will embolden more than a few radical vigilante extremists to commit acts of mass violence.

User review rating: 1 April 20, 2024

Horrible script, casting, music OMG worst movie I’ve ever seen. Wanted to leave - don’t waste your money!!!

User review rating: 5 April 20, 2024

It's making the lefties very uncomfortable as you can see by the comments here. Too funny.

User review rating: 5 April 20, 2024

Very good movie that was well directed, well written, good acting and helps the viewer understand what could happen if things go the way of a civil war in a world that is constantly changing. I liked the approach that was taken to tell a story through reporters’ view. The movie, in my opinion, is not about political views or the cause of the civil war but rather the suffering that a war will cause.

User review rating: 1 April 20, 2024

The only thing that I was stirring when I saw this movie were my bowels. 1 star for the movie, 3 stars for the washroom (low on TP).

User review rating: 1 April 20, 2024

I will join the one star party. Obvious propaganda. Was going to see it Now NO

User review rating: 1 April 20, 2024

if U want to watch a 12 year old press reporter put in the line of fire- a movie without a plot - stupid acting - then U have the right movie. I almost demanded my money back -Perhaps the worst movie I have ever seen

User review rating: 4 April 20, 2024

Exciting combat. I had a lot of the same feelings watching this as the Normandy Invasion in Saving Private Ryan. Really gives a better idea of how a modern American civil war would go. I suppose that there would be some real phychos coming out in such a situation like in this movie. That is probably war. I would have thought that the president would have had better protection. The movie doesn't get into why the president stayed in office for a 3rd term. Texas and California as the western alliance is anything but likely in our current environment. It is hard to say how much this movie relates to it. It seems like they made a money maker with all of the talk of a states seceding.

User review rating: 5 April 19, 2024

A stirring and objectional look at what could happen in the US, great combat scenes. The fact that it doesn't explain why people are fighting is the point... it's just showing what can happen, it's not some political left/right ideology thing so don't get upset about that.

User review rating: 1 April 19, 2024

I came in with high expectations, but I wanted to leave after 15 minutes. HOrrible deplorable dialogue, Empty shallow characters you didn't care about. Kirsten Dunst couldn't save this movie. This attempt at showing a Un-United States failed to hit the bullseye. In fact the dart missed the board. No explanations or back story were offered as to why what was happening was happening. Civil War offered a slow prodding plot. Honestly, I still don't know why Civil War was made.

User review rating: 1 April 19, 2024

About five minutes into this film, I was confident that I knew its outcome. I was exactly right. Several times I felt like getting up and leaving, but the popcorn was so good I thought I would stay and finish it, get my free refill and then leave. Sadly, my popcorn lasted until the end of the movie. Popcorn: 5 stars/Movie: 1 star

  Change Location